Standing Group on Democratic Innovations, Business Meeting

ECPR General Conference, Oslo September 8, 2017

Minutes

- 1) The meeting was opened by the convenors André Bächtiger (Stuttgart) and Kimmo Grönlund (Åbo Akademi), drinks and fruit provided by the Social Science Research Institute at Åbo Akademi University.
- 2) Participants: Approximately 35 people participated in the meeting.
- 3) Become a member via MyECPR (currently 281 members). http://standinggroups.ecpr.eu/democraticinnovations/
 - Everyone is welcome to share information with the Standing Group. Information can be sent to <u>info@democraticinnovations.net</u> and the webmaster Marina Lindell will forward the information to the members of the SG. We are one of the biggest ECPR Standing Groups (among top 5 in membership).
- 4) Report from the Standing Group Convenors' meeting, André Bächtiger
 - Your membership will be valid until the end of 2018, after this you will need to renew your membership.
 - One can apply for activity grants from the ECPR, e.g. for Summer Schools and conferences. The Brussel Summer School and The Frankfurt conference, arranged by Brigitte Geissel, received a small grant.
 - If interested, one can apply to become a member of the ECPR steering committee. The application process starts October 15.
- 5) Best Paper award. Since the General Conference in Prague last year, the SG awards a best paper. Last year Hannah Werner and Sofie Marien from the KU Leuven, Belgium. Selection process: Panel chairs choose one candidate from their panels and send proposal to the Section Chairs Staffan Himmelroos and Simon Beste. Convenors and Section Chairs make decision.
 - The Best Paper award only comes with honour no money is involved. The criteria were discussed at a general level. It is encouraged to select younger researchers not senior researchers. The recognition is more important for younger researchers.
- 6) Standing Group activities

- a) Summer schools (Democratic Innovations in Brussels, Deliberative Democracy in Canberra, and other plans)
- Summer School in Brussels 2017. 250 applications of which 25 were selected. The duration was one week. ECPR attributed a bit. This was the first summer school in deliberation. Both scholars and practitioners were selected to get a good mix.
- Nicole Curato presented the Summer School in Canberra: For two years it has been funded by the University of Canberra. It is unclear at this point whether it will be arranged in 2019 (funding). Interactions between professors, senior researchers and doctoral students have been the most important.
- IPSA 2018 will be arranged in Brisbane. Nicole encouraged researchers to spend some time as visiting scholars in Canberra in conjunction to the IPSA conference.
- "Participatory spaces in perspective" is a Summer School arranged by Graham Smith.
 Both theoretical and empirical work was accepted. Democracy.net was the main organizer. Funding is needed for a continuation.
- The SG can sponsor a Summer School next year. If several would want to arrange this it can be discussed how we do it. It will be possible to apply for some funding if the SG promotes it. Interested should be in contact with the convenors.
- b) Joint Sessions of Workshops. Nicosia, April 2018. Grönlund & Geissel: Can Participatory Reforms Save Representative Democracy? Paper proposals by 6 December 2017.
- Kimmo Grönlund invited and encouraged people to send their abstracts for the Joint Session workshop. He and Brigitte want a mix of scholars from different countries and in different stages of their career.
- c) The next General Conference, 22-25 August 2018 in Hamburg. We need a Democratic Innovations section and two chairs. Section proposals deadline 15 November 2017.
- Nicole Curato and Sofie Marien have agreed to take on the task as section chairs at the General Conference in Hamburg 2018. They need to send in the section proposal by 15 November. If you already know that you want to propose a panel for next General Conference – make contact with Nicole and Sofie. A section is not automatically guaranteed, but the SG sponsored sections have a better chance of getting approved. There is always a selection process and not all will be accepted by the ECPR.
- Steering Committee. The current Steering Committee was elected via an online ballot in July-August 2015. The members are André Bächtiger (Stuttgart, Germany), Joan Font (IESA-

CSIC, Cordoba, Spain), Brigitte Geissel (Frankfurt, Germany), Kimmo Grönlund (Åbo Akademi University, Finland), Graham Smith (University of Westminster, London, UK). The term is three years. Next election in the summer or autumn of 2018.

Ex officio

Marina Lindell
Webmaster of the SG on Democratic Innovations
Åbo Akademi University