Notes from the Standing Group on Democratic Innovations, Business Meeting

ECPR General Conference, Hamburg, August 24, 2018

Agenda

- 1) The convenors Kimmo Grönlund and André Bächtiger welcomed everyone to the business meeting.
- 2) The meeting was well-attended with approximately 50 participants.
- 3) http://standinggroups.ecpr.eu/democraticinnovations/ you can become a member via MyECPR (currently 359 members). The standing group, established by Brigitte Geissel and Kimmo Grönlund, is currently one of the largest ECPR standing groups.
- 4) Report from the Standing Group Convenors' meeting, André Bächtiger and Kimmo Grönlund: Membership in the standing group needs to be renewed every second year.
- 5) Best Paper award. Since the General Conference in Prague in 2016, the SG awards a best paper. Last year Hans Asenbaum from the University of Westminster, UK, was awarded for his paper "Online Anonymity in Deliberative Democracy: Disinhibition and Contestation or Deindividuation and Conformity?". Selection process: Panel chairs choose one candidate from their panels and send proposal to the Section Chairs Nicole Curato and Sofie Marien. SG Convenors and Section Chairs make the decision.

The Best Paper award only comes with honour – no money is involved. It is encouraged to select younger researchers - not senior researchers. The recognition is more important for younger researchers.

6) Standing Group activities

- a) Deliberative Democracy Summer School in Turku Åbo, Finland, 61 participants from all over the world, keynote speakers: David Farrell, John Gastil, John Dryzek. Next summer school possible 2020. Location?
- b) Summer School: Democratic Innovations in the European Union, in Brussels. Min Reuchamps.

- c) Joint Sessions of Workshops. Nicosia, April 2018. Grönlund & Geissel: Can Participatory Reforms Save Representative Democracy?. 24 papers.
 - At the Joint Sessions of workshops, 8–12 April 2019 at UCL, Mons, the SG sponsors the following workshop (this information was known only after the business meeting): Political Parties and Deliberative Practices: Use and Abuse. The workshop is lead by Vincent Jacquet, Université catholique de Louvain and Sorina Soare, Universitá di Firenze.
- d) The next General Conference, 4-7 September 2019 in Wroclaw, Poland. We need a Democratic Innovations section and two chairs. Section proposals deadline 19 November 2018. If you are interested in chairing, be in touch with André and Kimmo in September. Thank you to our chairs this year: Nicole Curato and Sofie Marien! You did a fantastic job in organizing the section and live-tweeting from the conference!
- 7) Steering Committee. The current Steering Committee was elected via an online ballot in July-August 2015. The members are André Bächtiger (Stuttgart, Germany), Joan Font (IESA-CSIC, Cordoba, Spain), Brigitte Geissel (Frankfurt, Germany), Kimmo Grönlund (Åbo Akademi University, Finland), Graham Smith (University of Westminster, London, UK). The new Steering Committee will be elected in September 2018 via online ballot using STV (single transferable vote). The mandate period of the new SC will be 1 January 2019 – 31 December 2021.

The candidates for the steering committee presented themselves. Brigitte Geissel, Goethe University of Frankfurt, withdrew her candidacy. Stefania Ravazzi and Basak Taraktas were not present. Jane Suiter had to cancel her participation in the last minute but sent a message that was read aloud by webmaster Marina Lindell.

The candidates are

Professor André Bächtiger (incumbent)

University of Stuttgart, Germany

Research Fellow, Dr. Nicole Curato

University of Canberra, Australia

Professor Kimmo Grönlund (incumbent) Åbo Akademi University, Finland

Post-doctoral researcher, Dr. Valesca Lima University College Dublin, Ireland

Assistant Professor, Dr. Sofie Marien KU Leuven, Belgium

Associate Professor Stefania Ravazzi University of Torino, Italy

Associate Professor, Director Jane Suiter Dublin City University, Ireland

Dr. Başak Taraktaş Northwestern University, USA



Convenors Kimmo Grönlund and André Bächtiger Photo: Nicole Curato



A well-attended business meeting Photo: Nicole Curato

Nach Auftrag,

Marina Lindell Webmaster, SG on Democratic Innovations Project Researcher, Social Science Research Institute, Åbo Akademi University