## **Constitution of the ECPR Standing Group on Parliaments**

Adopted on: 26 November 2014

## I. General

- 1. The Standing Group on Parliaments brings together scholars dedicated to the study of legislatures, including but not limited to parliaments and congresses, across the world. The Standing Group aims to:
  - a) Contribute to the development of the comparative study of legislatures, including but not limited to parliaments and congresses, across the world;
  - b) Establish, develop and maintain an international network of researchers in the field of legislative studies;
  - c) Work with other organizations dedicated to the scholarly study of legislatures;
  - d) Develop links between experienced academics and junior scholars working in the field of legislative studies;
  - e) As appropriate develop specialized courses for PhD students and early-career researchers whose research and thesis fall within the field of legislative studies;
  - f) Organize regular events for the international legislative studies community such as, conference panels, workshops, summer schools and specialized conferences;
  - g) Articulate its members' views vis-à-vis ECPR central bodies and the wider academic community.

## II. Membership

- 1. The Standing Group is open to all persons with a scholarly interest in legislative studies irrespective of their institutional affiliation.
- 2. Scholars affiliated to an ECPR member institution automatically become members of the Standing Group when they register as such through MyECPR.
- 3. Others may apply for membership and can be admitted by the Standing Group Steering Committee (see below), if they are found to show an active interest in the scholarly study of parliaments and congresses. Such membership becomes effective as soon as the Steering Committee informs ECPR Central Services of its decision.
- 4. The Standing Group does not charge a separate membership fee.

## III. Governance

- 1. The Standing Group is governed by a Steering Committee consisting of five members elected by, and from, the Standing Group members for a period of three years, renewable.
- 2. Elections will be conducted by electronic ballot.
- 3. If individual members of the Steering Committee resign before the end of the Steering Committee's regular term of office, the Steering Committee may conduct an electronic election to replace that member.
- 4. At least six months before the Steering Committee's term of office expires, it invites candidates from among the Standing Group members to nominate themselves within one month. If after that deadline fewer than five candidates and/or fewer than three candidates affiliated to ECPR member institutions have nominated themselves, the nomination period is extended for another month.
- 5. If only five candidates have nominated themselves, including at least three candidates affiliated to ECPR member institutions, they are declared elected.
- 6. If more than five candidates have nominated themselves, but only three candidates affiliated to ECPR member institutions, the latter three candidates are declared elected; elections will be held only to assign the remaining seats on the Steering Committee to those candidates not yet declared elected.
- 7. If sufficient candidates have nominated themselves to have elections for all or part of the seats, the Steering Committee notifies ECPR Central Services, within a month after nominations have closed, of the names of the candidates, and of the number of seats to be filled.
- 8. ECPR Central Services will notify all Standing Group members of the period within, and manner by, which they can cast their vote.
- 9. The electoral system used for elections to the Standing Group's Steering Committee is Single Transferable Vote (STV), as is the case for ECPR Executive Committee elections.
- 10. If all five seats on the Steering Committee are to be filled, and the candidates who meet the electoral quota do not include at least three candidates affiliated to ECPR member institutions, the non-affiliated candidate meeting the electoral quota with the lowest number of votes is removed. This procedure is repeated until at least three candidates affiliated to ECPR member institutions are elected.
- 11. At its first meeting, the newly elected Steering Committee elects its own Convenor, Secretary, Treasurer, Conference Chair and Graduate Liaison Officer.

- 12. After the election of the Convenor, the Steering Committee elects one of the other members as Deputy Convenor.
- 13. The Convenor, Deputy Convenor and Treasurer are affiliated to ECPR member institutions. The newly elected Convenor immediately notifies ECPR Central Services of the names and functions of the new Steering Committee.
- 14. Annually a business meeting is held to which the Convenor or Deputy Convenor invites all Standing Group members. The business meeting is held during the ECPR General Conference or, if applicable, during the Standing Group's main conference in a given year.
- 15. This Constitution can be amended by a two-thirds majority of Standing Group members voting in an electronic ballot. Members shall be informed about the wording of a proposed amendment in writing at least two weeks before the vote is held. The vote will be conducted electronically, and members will have a period of fourteen days to cast their vote. The result of the vote will be announced by the Convenor to all members of the Standing Group and ECPR as soon as the voting period is over and the votes have been counted.