REGULATIONS ECPR Standing Group Award for Regulatory Studies Development

The Steering Committee of the ECPR Standing Group on Regulatory Governance has created a new Award, to complement the Giandomenico Majone Prize: the Standing Group Award for Regulatory Studies Development. The purpose of the award is to recognize on outstanding contribution to the development of regulation & governance studies, focusing on senior scholars.

This award will be granted each two years during our conference, and would be named the Standing Group Award for Regulatory Studies Development and does not involve a monetary prize. We might grant the award someone who promoted a new teaching initiative, opened a new research sub field, made crucial publications (like standard books) or a made a significant public contribution to the field (i.e., a large dataset, a new RIA technique). The whole steering committee could act as a nominating committee and awarding committee.

The procedure is as follows:

(1) Six months (or earlier) before the Biennial Conference, the steering committee nominates candidates which are then listed by the chair(s) of the steering committee.

(2) Based on the consolidated list of nominees, the steering committee as a whole during the awarding period decides who wins, according to criteria of relevance and importance of the professional and academic contribution. The committee exchanges written recommendations and votes if necessary.

(3) The chairs inform the selected senior scholar is informed about the award and asked whether he accepts it.
(4) The award is then granted to the winning senior scholar at the Biennial Conference by the chair(s) of the steering committee and the local organizer. The award winning scholar is asked to address the conference audience with a speech which contains the main elements of his work on regulatory governance.

Academic year 2013-2014: first award

The nomination period ran from 13 November till 1 December 2013: 1 nominee listed The awarding period was between 12 December and 20 December 2013: nominee approved