About the Standing Group

The Standing Group was founded in March 2005 by David Levi-Faur (Hebrew University) and Jacint Jordana (Pompeu Fabra University). The Group’s founding members and those who joined it subsequently believe that the study of regulation and regulatory governance has become an increasingly important topic in the social sciences.

The aim of the Standing Group is to encourage studies in this area and to provide a platform for collaboration, mutual exchange and debate. We bring together scholars from all over the world, working in areas as diverse as economics, law, sociology, criminology, (social) psychology and history, for a fruitful exchange of ideas and knowledge on regulatory governance. However, as a Standing Group of the European Consortium for Political Research (ECPR), the main focus of the Group will be on the political aspects of regulation.

We believe in openness and pluralism and intend to open the group not only to different disciplines, but also to a variety of theoretical perspectives and to multiple methodological approaches.

Chair and Co-Chair

Chair: Eva Ruffing, Osnabrück University, Germany

Eva Ruffing is Professor for German Politics in the Context of European Multi-Level Governance at Osnabrück University. Prior to this, she held positions at the University of Bergen, the Free University of Berlin, the University of Hamburg and Leibniz University Hannover. She works on multi-level administration, policy making and implementation in the European multi-level system as well as on the processing of information in public sector organizations. Her work has been published in the Journal of European Public PolicyPublic Administration and Governance, among others.

Co-Chair: Martin Lodge, London School of Economics and Political Science, United Kingdom

Martin Lodge is Professor of Political Science and Public Policy, Department of Government and Co-Director of the Centre for Analysis of Risk and Regulation at the London School of Economics. His research interests focus on executive politics and regulation. He is also convening the MSc Regulation at the LSE.

Steering Committee

Previous Chairs

  • Jacint Jordana, Pompeu Fabra University and Institut Barcelona d’Estudis Internacionals, Spain (2005-2010)
  • David Levi-Faur, Hebrew University of Jerusalem, Israel (2005-2010)
  • Anne Meuwese, Leiden University, Netherlands (Co-Chair, 2012-2016)
  • Claudio Radaelli, European University Institute, Italy (2010-2012)
  • Colin Scott, University College Dublin, Ireland (2016-2021)
  • Koen Verhoest, University of Antwerp, Belgium (Co-Chair, 2012-2016)

Previous Steering Committee members

Founding Members

The following scholars supported the establishment of the ECPR Standing Group:

Rules for the governance of the Standing Group

Consult the Basic Rules for the Governance of the Standing Group, adopted in June 2012, here.