Welcome to the Virtual Community of Practice for Interpretive Practitioners!

The Virtual Community of Practice (CoP) for Interpretive Practitioners is a bi-monthly online event, hosted by Severine van Bommel, during which we discuss scientific issues in relation to interpretive policy analysis (IPA). Meetings last approximately 1.5 hours.

The Community of Practice is intended to be member led. The aims of the Community of Practice are to: 

  • share experiences and exchange ideas related to interpretive policy analysis
  • discuss relevant (to all) literature that focuses on interpretive policy analysis
  • discuss new developments in scientific theory and methodology in this field

Furthermore, we aim to invite the author, whose work we discuss, to introduce their work/research project/publication and reflect with us on our own experiences as Interpretive Practitioners. This speaker may be an IPA scholar or someone from a closely affiliated field.

Participants in various stages of their career are welcome to join. Every participant will read the relevant literature before the meeting. 

A summary of the issues discussed each meeting will be posted to the blog of this website, as well as the references to the literature discussed. It will also create a digital memory. 

If you would like to join a CoP meeting, please email Severine at s.vanbommel@uq.edu.au

Past meetings

‘Deliberative Policy Analysis’ (with Hendrik Wagenaar) – Monday 5 October 2020 

 Upcoming meetings 

Interpretive Policy Analysis in a post-truth world (with Frank Fischer) – Monday 7 December 2020 at 5 pm AEST (8 am CET). 

Transformational potential of Interpretive Policy Analysis (with Anne Loeber and Koen Bartels) – Monday 1 February 2020 at 6 pm AEST (9 am CET).