In 1998, the Parties Standing Group of the European Consortium for Political Research (ECPR) adopted a highly successful series of multinational Summer Schools on European Parties and Party Systems. First held in 1991, these annual Summer Schools bring together an international team of academics to teach a group of circa twenty junior researchers (mainly MPhil/PhD students) working on European party politics.

Until 2003, most were (co-)directed by Ferdinand Müller-Rommel and Kurt Richard Luther and held initially at the Universität Lüneburg and then at Keele University.
Between 2004 to 2006, the Summer Schools were directed by Hans Keman at the Vrije Universiteit in Amsterdam and from 2007 to 2009 by Peter Mair at the European University Institute, Florence. Jean-Benoit Pilet (ULB), Emile van Haute (ULB) and Kris Deschouwer (VUB) co-directed them in Brussels from 2010 to 2012 inclusive. From 2013-2015, they were directed by Ferdinand Müller-Rommel at the Leuphana Universität Lüneburg.

28th ECPR Summer School on Political Parties (10-21 September 2018)

The 28th ECPR Summer School on Political Parties will take place at the School of Politics and International Relations of the University of Nottingham from 10-21 September 2018. The theme of this year’s Summer School is “Political Parties in Turmoil”.
Full details of the summer school and application procedure are available here.


Future hosting of the Group’s Annual PhD Summer School

The Group is delighted to be able to announce that from 2016 to 2018 inclusive, its Summer Schools will take place at the University of Nottingham’s School of Politics and International Relations. The co-directors will be Professor Cees van der Eijk and Dr Fernando Casal Bertoa, who plan to revert to the longstanding two-week format and will announce further details in due course.