ECPR Standing Group Teaching and Learning Politics was formally established on 15 April 2011 and is a direct continuation of the work that had previously been done within the framework of the European Political Science Network (epsNet). You can find more on our past work here.

The Teaching and Learning Politics Standing Group is committed to the promotion of the teaching and learning in the field of political science. Our aim is to spread the scholarship of teaching and learning with and aim of fostering dialogue about the teaching of politics and improving the recognition of teaching among political science researchers.

Since there is a great variation across Europe in the provision of teacher training for political scientists, we see it as our mission to level the differences by disseminating best practice across the continent. Our primary goal is to focus on those beginning their academic careers as teachers of political science (i.e. PhD students in the latter stages of their studies or young scholars who have been recently awarded their doctorate). However, we hope to engage more senior political science teachers in meaningful discussion on improving the quality of teaching and learning in Europe.


The statutes of our group can be found here.


In order to carry out our mission, we engage in the following activities:


We have more than 200 members from different European and non-European institutions. We welcome among our members anyone who shares our mission. Membership is free.

Anyone wishing to join us should do so by following these steps:

  • Go to MyECPR, log in or create a new account (you can create an account even if you are not an ECPR member);
  • Once logged-in, go to ‘Groups and Networks’ and then ‘Current Standing groups’;
  • Select ‘details’ under ‘Teaching and Learning Politics’;
  • Click ‘join standing group’.

If you need help with registering, please contact Heidi Maurer at


A new Steering Committee, elected in June 2017, took its office in September 2017. Its members include:

  • Simon, Eszter, Nottingham Trent University, UK
  • Pleschová, Gabriela, Comenius University in Bratislava, Slovakia
  • Mauer, Heidi, Oxford University, UK
  • Piros, Silviu, IES, Vrije Universiteit Brussels, Belgium
  • Hamenstädt, Ulrich, Westfälische Wilhelms-Universität Münster, Germany

The Steering Committee can be reached at

Minutes of the Steering Committee meetings