The governance and operation of our Standing Group is regulated by the ECPR Framework for Standing Groups and Research Networks. In addition, each Steering Committee may establish a set of byelaws or standing orders to support the governance of the group or network; any such documents should be approved by the Executive Committee and should not contradict this Framework or the ECPR Constitution.

Byelaws of the Standing Group on Gender and Politics 

  1. Steering Committee members are elected for a term of three years, which is once renewable. The call for new members will explicitly invite and support members from underrepresented groups and regions to submit their candidacy.
  2. The terms of the Steering Committee can be staggered, with elections for some members taking place every two years. Incumbent Steering Committee members will remain members until new members have been elected.
  3. The Steering Committee will determine the time of the election, usually within three months after the General Assembly, allowing the incumbent Steering Committee to report to the General Assembly and the new candidates to introduce themselves at the General Assembly.
  4. Every two years, the Steering Committee elects a Chair, Deputy Chair and Treasurer, all of whom must be from an ECPR member institution. The terms of these officeholders are once renewable. The Chairpersons are responsible for the liaison with ECPR, the distribution of tasks among Steering Committee members and submitting an annual report of the Standing Group’s activities and projects. The Treasurer prepares the budget and submits a financial report to the Steering Committee at the end of each calendar year.
  5. The Steering Committee will meet at least twice a year (either in person or by conference call) to take decisions. When deciding on business matters, a quorum of 2/3 of the members of the Steering Committee is required. The Steering Committee aims at taking decisions by consensus. If consensus is not attainable, then at least a majority of those participating in the vote is required to take decisions.
  6. The Standing Group organizes a biennial conference: the European Conference on Politics and Gender (ECPG). The Steering Committee issues a call for proposals to host the biennial conference. Decisions about the location and the host institution of the biennial conference are taken by the Steering Committee on the basis of a public call, which has been circulated among the members sufficiently in advance, specifying the expectations and the selection criteria.
  7. The Steering Committee appoints two Conference Chairs (from among its members) that are responsible for the organization of the conference, academic content, the conference budget, liaison with local organizers and liaison with ECPR Services. The Conference Chairs can delegate tasks to other members of the Steering Committee and – upon majority decision by the Steering Committee – to other Standing Group members volunteering to participate in organizing the conference.
  8. No later than three months after each ECPG, the Steering Committee receives and discusses a report by the Conference Chairs on the organization, academic content and the financial results of the conference.
  9. Every year, a meeting of the General Assembly of the Standing Group is held to which all Standing Group members are invited. The General Assembly is held in uneven years at the biennial European Conference on Politics & Gender (ECPG), and in even years at the ECPR General Conference. The reports of these meetings need to be approved by the General Assembly.
  10. At the General Assembly, the Steering Committee provides a report about the activities and state of affairs of the Standing Group. The Treasurer provides a financial overview.
  11. The Steering Committee may decide on the organization and support of other activities that it engages in, subject to the availability of sufficient funding.