Interest Groups | June 29-July 7, 2017

Interest Group Politics and Policy-Making in the 21st Century


The 8th ECPR Summer School on Interest Group Politics will take place at the Bremen International Graduate School of Social Sciences (BIGSSS), Germany from June 29 until July 7, 2017.

Through a variety of courses taught by renowned interest group scholars, students will learn about the different stages of the lobbying process involving interest group strategies and group influence on public policy-making.


The summer school provides students with advanced training in the latest theoretical approaches and in cutting-edge methods applied in the study of interest groups. In addition, the summer school will connect students to an international forum of researchers and enable them to build an academic network with other junior and senior scholars in interest group research.

Students will have the opportunity to present and discuss their own research and to get feedback from the instructors and the other students. To do so, students are required to submit a research paper of about 6,000 to 8.000 words in advance of the summer school. The best paper will be awarded a prize by the conveners of the ECPR Summer School.



The 8th ECPR Summer School on Interest Group Politics is convened by:

Arndt Wonka (University of Bremen)
Anne Rasmussen (University of Copenhagen)

Members of the Summer School faculty
Rainer Eising (Ruhr-University Bochum)
Bert Fraussen (Leiden University)
Heike Klüver (Humboldt University of Berlin)
Marcel Hanegraaff (University of Amsterdam)
William Maloney (Newcastle University)

See for more information (Contact and application):