From: 2010/08/16 To: 2010/08/28

Subscription Deadline: 2010/06/13

Place: Roskilde University, Denmark

Supported by: European Consortium for Political Research (ECPR), ECPR Standing Group on the European Union and The Danish Political Science Research School.



The concern of the PhD Summer School is the relationship between the European Union (EU) and its environment. This includes the role of the EU as an international actor, the implications of EU development and foreign policies, but also how the global environment affects EU policies and politics.

The PhD Summer School accordingly has both an “outward” look on the implication of EU agents and policies in global arenas and an “inward” look on the impact of globalization on EU institutions and policies. Focus will also be on the interrelations between European integration and globalisation.

The PhD Summer School will deal with the theme “Europe in the World” both in theoretical and empirical terms, but also in terms of research strategies. By means of concrete examples various research designs and techniques will be discusses including research strategies known from comparative politics, discourse analysis, foreign policy analysis and international relations.



The aim is to bring together and train PhD-students in theoretical, empirical and research strategic issues on the subject matter. Additionally, the purpose is to support PhD-students in furthering their research projects. The PhD Summer School is aimed at political science PhD-students from various sub-disciplines including EU-studies, international relations, comparative politics, and public administration. A maximum of 24 PhD students may participate and they should preferably be at least one year into their studies. Participant will also be admitted so to ensure a certain geographical spread.



Stelios Stavridis (Zaragoza University, Spain), Tobias Schumacher (Lisbon University Institute, Portugal), Dimitris Xenakis (University of Crete, Greece), Kennet Lynggaard (Roskilde University, Denmark), Ian Manners (Roskilde University, Denmark), Ben Rosamond (University of Warwick), Charlotte Bretherton (Liverpool John Moores University), Anne-Marie Le Gloannec (Sciences Po Paris), Gorm Rye Olsen (Roskilde University), Lisbeth Aggestam (University of Bath), Knud Erik Jørgensen (Aarhus University).



Kennet Lynggaard (Roskilde University, Denmark), Stelios Stavridis (Zaragoza University, Spain), Tobias Schumacher (Lisbon University Institute, Portugal), Dimitris Xenakis (University of Crete, Greece).